Ragan Report


     Many of our state parks have seen some damage in recent weeks because of strong winds and flooding. According to the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (DNR), staff is clearing downed limbs, cleaning up and making repairs. A few state parks are closed or partially closed. For the latest information, go to www.iowadnr.gov/parks and click on the Closure Information link on the left.

     Because of bad weather throughout June, the Governor has already proclaimed disaster emergencies in 48 counties, including Franklin and Butler. This proclamation allows state resources to be used to respond to and recover from the storms. Franklin is also among 25 counties in which the proclamation has activated the Iowa Individual Assistance Program.

     The Individual Assistance Program provides up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level. That works out to a maximum annual income of $39,580 for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Applications and instructions are available through the Iowa Department of Human Services at http://dhs.iowa.gov/disaster-assistance-programs.

     If you are impacted by storms or flooding in Iowa and have questions, contact the Iowa Concern Hotline at 1-800-447-1985.

Additional information

     This is a legislative column by Senator Amanda Ragan, representing Franklin, Butler and Cerro Gordo counties. For newsletters, photos and further information, go to www.senate.iowa.gov/senator/ragan. To contact Senator Ragan during the week, call the Senate Switchboard at 515-281-3371. Otherwise, she can be reached at home at 641-424-0874.


     E-mail her at amanda.ragan@legis.iowa.gov. Senator Ragan is an Assistant Senate Majority Leader, chair of the Human Resources Committee and vice-chair of the Health & Human Services Budget Subcommittee. She also serves on the Appropriations, Natural Resources & Environment, Rules & Administration and Veterans Affairs committees.